Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m going to share another recipe with y’all today! This recipe is for my oat & honey bread. I don’t know about you, but I love honey. & I’m a sucker for bread. I could eat plain bread on a daily basis, which is probably why I have to keep my butt in the gym lol. This bread is one of my favorites. My husband loves it too, which is always a good thing! You know you have a good recipe when your husband’s buddies ask him to bring some to work with him so that they can have some too. I made sure to take pictures throughout the process while I was making it last night. I don’t know about y’all, but I find things to be a bit easier to understand if I can see pictures of the process. So here’s what you’ll need –

1 Envelope of Yeast (2-1/4 tsp )
1/4 cup of Honey
3 Tbsp of Unsalted Butter, melted
1-1/3 cup of Warm Water
3 cups of Bread Flour
1 cup of Old Fashioned or Quick Oats
1/3 cup of Non Fat Dry Milk Powder
1 tsp of Salt

& you’ll need an additional –
2 Tbsp of Honey
2 Tbsp of Oats

Here’s what you’ll need to do –

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a small bowl, add the water, honey and yeast. Let it sit for a few minutes until the yeast is activated. The second picture is what it looks like once the yeast has activated.

DSC_0088DSC_0092

3. In the bowl of a standing mixer add flour, milk powder, oats, salt, butter, & the yeast milk mixture.

DSC_0089

4. With a dough hook attachment, knead the dough for just a few minutes, or until it all comes together.

DSC_0090

DSC_0096

5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface & knead until the dough is nice and smooth. (Don’t worry if the dough is super sticky. It’s suppose to be.)

6. Lightly grease a large bowl, place the dough in the greased bowl, brush the top with a little oil & cover with plastic wrap. I usually just spray the bowl with olive oil spray.

DSC_0095DSC_0098

7. Place in a warm, draft free spot & let it rise for about an hour and a half. I put mine in the microwave, with the microwave turned off.

DSC_0100

8. Grease a 9×5” loaf pan & set aside.

9. Dump the dough out onto a lightly floured surface, again, & knead it for a minute just to pull it together. Form it into a loaf as best you can, & place it in the greased loaf pan (seam side down). Cover it with the plastic wrap, & let it rise for another hour & a half.

DSC_0102DSC_0103DSC_0105

10. Warm the additional honey up so that it’s runny, & brush the top of the bread with it. Sprinkle the additional oats all over the top.

DSC_0106DSC_0107

11. Bake your bread for about 40 minutes. If you don’t like the top of your bread to have as much color as mine does, simply cover it with foil when you see it getting too dark.

DSC_0108

12. Allow it to cool for about 5 minutes, & then gently remove from the pan. Let cool completely before slicing.

DSC_0109

I really hope you give this one a try! We just love it. It’s delicious! Xoxo

