Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know that I said in my last book review that I was going to review The Queen of Zombie Hearts by Gena Showalter next, but I thought I would write a review on the Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl first. The only reason I decided this is because I literally just finished this series.

Beautiful Creatures

This series consists of 4 books. There’s Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Darkness, Beautiful Chaos, & Beautiful Redemption. I enjoyed this series. I suppose it wouldn’t surprise anyone that I loved the Southern charm in these books, being that I’m from Louisiana lol. These books were different from anything I’ve ever read for a few reasons. The first reason being that I’ve never read a book from a guy’s point of view before. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it at first, but it turned out to be pretty interesting. It was a nice little change. The next reason being that these books had ideas in them that I’ve never seen, or heard of, before. The authors took witches, vampires, ghosts, even voodoo & personalized them. Instead of witches or warlocks, they’re called Casters. Instead of ghosts, they’re called Sheers. There are several other examples of the authors putting their own twists on things, but I don’t want to give too much detail & ruin it for those of you who haven’t had a chance to read it. Here’s an overview for those of you who haven’t read them yet. The main character in these books is Ethan Wate. He’s a high school student in Gatlin, South Carolina. Following a car accident that killed his mother, Ethan lives with his father & their long-time housekeeper, Amma. Ethan doesn’t exactly relish living in Gatlin, & dreams of the day that he can escape the boring life he leads. That is, however, until Lena Duchannes moves to Gatlin. She is the girl of his dreams, literally. You see, Ethan has been dreaming about Lena for quite a while. Imagine his surprise when he realizes she’s real & has moved to his town. He soon learns that she’s not just an ordinary girl. Lena is an extremely powerful Caster, from an extremely powerful Caster family, & her family is cursed. As soon as Ethan meets Lena, things begin to change. She takes him on a dangerous & thrilling adventure. Their lives seem to get more & more complicated as time goes on, & leads to shocking discoveries that you most likely won’t see coming.

The only negative things I can say about these books is that they are a bit too descriptive in some parts, which causes the story to progress somewhat slowly. Also, these books were probably meant for an audience that’s just a bit younger. While I did enjoy them, there were a few times I couldn’t help but roll my eyes lol. All in all, I suggest you give these a try. If you enjoyed the Twilight books, the Hunger Games, or even the Divergent series, I think you’ll enjoy these. The series has comedy, romance, drama.. a little of everything. I hope you give them a try!

