Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey, y’all! I decided to write my next review on “A Discovery of Witches” & “Shadow of Night” by Deborah Harkness.
Image
They are books 1 & 2 of the All Souls Trilogy. I decided to write the reviews of these books together, because I figured it might be easier for you that way. Let me start off by saying that these books are two of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. I was completely enthralled by the world that Harkness created. Deborah Harkness is a history professor, & her attention to detail in these books is phenomenal. These books are a mixture of historically accurate events, & the adventures of fictional characters. I would say that they’re an adult mixture of the Harry Potter books & the Twilight books. I don’t say that lightly. I loved the Harry Potter books, & I actually enjoyed the Twilight books. I’ll start with an overview of A Discovery of Witches. Harkness really hits it out of the park with this one. The main character is Diana Bishop. She’s the orphaned daughter of two extremely powerful witches. Diana’s a historian, & prefers to rely on her intellect rather than her magic. One night while doing research in Oxford’s Bodleian Library, a bewitched alchemist manuscript wound up in her hands. The manuscript brought with it an unwelcome amount of magic, along with some very unwanted attention. The unwanted attention came from other witches, vampires, & daemons. They all want the manuscript. Among those vampires is Matthew Clairmont. At first, Diana isn’t too sure about Matthew. It is with him, however, that she begins the journey that will eventually change her life forever. I won’t go any further into it just in case some of you haven’t read it yet. I could not put this book down. I was so impressed with everything about this book. Harkness does an outstanding job of captivating her readers. Her writing will keep you on the edge of your seat. While reading this book, I laughed, cried, gasped, & my jaw dropped on several occasions. It had me running out to the bookstore to buy the second one as soon as I finished the last page. So, on to Shadow of Night. If you haven’t read A Discovery of Witches, & you don’t want to know ANYTHING about the story, stop reading. I don’t want to spoil anything for you! Shadow of Night was, of course, perfect. It was everything that I hoped it would be when I finished A Discovery of Witches. I wasn’t disappointed in the least. I’m a huge European history nerd, so this book was especially intoxicating. A Shadow of Night sends Diana & Matthew to Elizabethan London. Their mission is to locate a witch to tutor Diana in her magic, & to find Ashmole 782. In this world of spies & intrigue, Diana & Matthew must hold onto each other & try to survive. Again, Harkness uses historical facts to add a little something extra to an amazing fictional story. I finished this book in record time, & am sitting on the edge of my seat till the next one comes out! The third, & final book, in the All Souls Trilogy is The Book of Life. It will be out in July 2014. Also, for those of you interested, the movie rights for this series have been bought! Let’s hope that Hollywood can do the books justice. I hope you’ve enjoyed this review. Please leave your thoughts & comments in the comment section! Xoxo
